Break: day 10

Today’s weight: 255.2
Difference from last drop day: +0.8

And another little bit of a down… Which means, still well within that 4 pound window. Yay!

For the most part, I’m moving around okay today. Still really stiff & sore, but getting a bit better every day. I have to go back to work tomorrow, though… meh. I’m happy, because I’m kinda bored, but I’m sad because… well, it’s work! lol

I slept mostly okay last night. The dogs decided that they REALLY wanted to go to the bathroom at 1am, and started jumping on me, so I had to get up to let them out. I had a bit of trouble getting back to sleep after that, but eventually I managed.

My day~
Breakfast was 3 oz roast beef, a string cheese, & coffee/heavy cream.
Snack was an apple & tea.
Lunch was a cabbage/turkey sausage stew thing (recipe below).
Dinner was chicken fajita bake (recipe also below) with sour cream & avocado.
Dessert is 1/4 cup whipping cream & 2 oz cream cheese whipped up in my Magic Bullet.
(I wonder if I need to look at my calorie/fat levels… I seem to be having a hard time hitting those two numbers!)

Water count: 80 oz (+16 oz hot herbal tea)

Cabbage/Turkey Stew thing
1/2  head cabbage, shredded
2 tbsp cream
5 mild Italian turkey sausages, chunked up
2 cups of left-over squash soup

Lightly boil the cabbage in a pot with water & the cream (this cuts the bitterness) & then drain when it starts to get tender. Put the cabbage back in the pot & pour the squash soup into the pot with the drained cabbage.
Fry the sausage pieces in a frying pan & then add to the cabbage.
Cook until heated through.
made 4 servings

Chicken Fajita Bake
18 oz chicken breast, cubed
1 tsp butter
3 oz red bell pepper, cut into small strips
1 oz yellow onion, cut into small strips
2 tbsp fresh cut salsa (I use Roja brand)
3 oz fresh spinach, chopped
1 cup Mexican style shredded cheese

Pre-heat oven to 400.
In a sautee pan, cook the chicken in the butter until partially white. Add the peppers, onions, & salsa. Cover & cook for 3-5 minutes.
Chop the spinach & put into a small casserole dish (I used a pie pan). Pour the chicken mixture over the spinach, sprinkle the cheese over the chicken.
Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until cheese is melty.

Serving Size: 3 servings
Nutritional Info: 335 kcal / 11 g fat / 5 g carb / 50 g protein

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Break: day 10

  1. Sorry just wanted to ask on this diet do you need to be checking your weight every day?

    and what steps are in place for when you finish it?

    It sounds like you are doing really well so far but I just worry that although your weigh is going down now what happens at the end is there a chance of having a rebound effect.

    • Yes, at this point, I have to check my weight every day… during the ‘break’ portion (or the body reset portion), I have to stay within two pounds of either side of my last ‘drops’ day.
      The quick and dirty version is, after I finish the hCG protocol phase, I have three weeks of strict low-carb (basically Paleo or Atkins p2), in which I have to stay within that 4 pound window. Some carbs are okay- but they need to be coming from vegetables (and an apple or berries here and there). After that three weeks, I

        slowly

      introduce regular carbs back into my system. No more than one serving a day, and each day a different one, to see how my body reacts to each addition. This phase lasts at least 3 weeks as well, but is the basis for how I should eat for the future.
      I know that simple carbs is what did me in, weight-wise. Candy, sugary sodas, white pasta… that’s what I’ll need to actively avoid in order to keep myself healthy. (Actually, I learned that years ago, but I apparently wasn’t ready to give it all up.) Where my downfall is… is instead of just having something once to treat myself or get over a craving, I went totally overboard & ate everything for weeks on end. Also, fast food is the bane of our existence… LOL
      There is always a chance of rebound – if I go right back to eating the way I was. But, the main point of this diet is to reset one’s relationship with food & how we deal with it. So, I don’t intend on ever going back to eating an entire large pizza in one sitting or a double cheeseburger & large fries with a coke… I suppose, if you look at it this way, any diet can be rebounded from, if you don’t change your lifestyle to support your accomplishment. 🙂
      Okay… so much for quick! LOL
      The original protocol for the hCG diet is called Pounds & Inches, by Dr. Simeons. It was written in 197 You can read it here: http://timtedbylife.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/poundsinches.pdf

      Anyway, thanks for following my journey! I’m hoping that keeping this blog will keep me on the right track for life.

  2. Ahh, I found you again! Glad to hear you are recovering, and what good work staying within your weight zone. I would think it’s especially hard with the stress of surgery. I hope going back to work doesn’t wear you out too much!

  3. I will be starting HCG on Thanksgiving as well. How many days are you going to do VLCD?

    • I’m going to be doing 21 more days of drops, ending on Dec 15. Then I’ll break for 6 weeks & start a new 42 day round on February 4th.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

